The 2nd edition of National Junior Men and Women Boxing Championship-2018 organized by Boxing Federation of India kicks off to a flying start at Chandigarh University campus Gharuan. 700 Players from 30 states and union territories are taking part during the 7 day national championship. 32 Men’s Team and 27 Women’s team from all over India took part in the parade off ceremony which was presided over by Dr. R.S Bawa, Vice Chancellor, Chandigarh University along with Amit Panghal (Gold Medalist Asian Games), Dr. C.B. Raje (Vice-president, BFI) and R.P Pandove, Director Administration, Punjab State Power Corporation Limited.

The first day of the Championship will witness 58 matches in Men category and 27 contests in Women Category. “The Junior Boxing Championship has seen a huge participation this year. We are focused on making the best platform available for young pugilists so that the best talent is identified for the country from this platform.” said Dr. C.B. Raje.

All eyes were on the bouts amidst International players in women category, Neha (Haryana) who won Gold medalist in the 13th Selesian cup and H. Ambeshori Devi (Manipur) who participant in the 2nd national Cup, both in the 57 weight category. In the men 50Kg category, S Victor Singh (Service Sports Control Board) who is a Gold Medalist in the National Cup -Serbia competed against Abhishek Kumar representing Bihar.

Today’s Results:

Men (46 kg) Rehan Singh (Maharashtra) beat Bhagat Bachung (Arunachal Pradesh) Score 5-0, S Kalarasan (TML) beat Harsh Chandra (Rajasthan) Score 4-1, Daksh Chauhan(Chhattisgarh) beat Deepak (Chandigarh) Score 3-2, Anshul Saroha (Haryana) walkover Nikhil Bhuiya (Jharkhand), Karan Mehar (Uttarakhand) beat Lalmaunkima (Mizoram) Score 3-2, Manish Rathore (UP) beat Lrvin Solanki (Gujarat) Score 5-0, Sanjeet (Services Sports Control Board) beat Jitendra Mohanty (Orissa) Score 5-0

Women (46 kg) Yogita (Maharashtra) beat Purnima (Orissa) Score 5-0, Sirisha (AP) walkover C. Pavithra (Tamil Nadu), Ragini (UP) walkover Mahera (Gujarat), Priyanka (Assam) walkover Sanjana (J&K), Lalrinchhani (Mizoram) beat Arpitha (Kerala) Score 5-0, Anjali (Rajasthan) beat Ankita (AP) Score 5-0, Rajni (Haryana) beat Lnandithi (Telangana) Score 5-0, Aarti (Goa) beat Sushma (Bihar) Score 5-0, O. Pinky Devi (Manipal) beat Manmeet (Punjab) Score 5-0, Suman (Goa) walkover S. Deepa (Tamil Nadu), Gayatri (Maharashtra) beat Sonia (Orissa) Score 5-0.