Teachers are considered to be the torch-bearers who through their experience and knowledge light-up the lives of thousands of students during their professional tenure, said Satnam Singh Sandhu, Chancellor, Chandigarh University. He was speaking during the University Best Teachers Awards ceremony. More than 65 University Professors and Researchers were awarded in various categories for the best contributions in their respective fields. Prof. Navneen Kumar of Department of Mathematics was awarded with Dr. Radhakrishnan Award for Best University Teacher 2019 while Dr. Nitin Mittal of Department of Electronics and Communication was awarded with CV Raman Best Researcher Award 2019 for publishing more than 13 research papers and becoming research guide for 6 Ph.D. students in the year 2019. 

More than 34 University Professors were awarded with Best Department Teachers Award 2019 for their contribution in their respective fields while Prof. Amanpreet Kaur, Department of Agriculture, Prof. Gurmeet Kumar, Department of Chemistry and Prof. Harmanpreet Kaur, Department of Mathematics were honored with Most Reliable Teacher Award. The role of today’s teacher has changed from just being a guide to a professional who helps the students in building strong careers and that is why they are also known as Nation Builders, added Satnam Sandhu.