Chandigarh University Celebrates National Teachers Day


267 faculty, staff members honoured on National Teachers’ Day

MOHALI: Chandigarh University Gharuan honoured 267 faculty members and staff on the occasion of National Teachers Day to mark the celebration of the 134th birth anniversary of the great philosopher, educationist, and former President Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan. S. Satnam Singh Sandhu, Chancellor, Chandigarh University honoured the best of faculty talent in various categories of Best Teaching-Learning Faculty, Best Researchers, Best Innovators, and Transformative Educators Awards in various University Teaching Departments including Engineering, Hotel Management, Commerce, Applied Sciences, Health Sciences, Management, Film Making, Media, Law, Design and Liberal Arts, including honouring the long association of the faculty and staff with the varsity.


National Teachers Day

Among those honoured, 7 were awarded with Aatm Nirbhar Award for Best Change Maker while 7 were awarded with Aatm Nirbhar Award for Best Innovator, 6 faculty members were awarded with Best Debutant Award while 10 were awarded with Students’ Favourite Teacher Award. As many as 20 faculty members were awarded with Transformative Educator Award in Engineering, while 35 faculty members were awarded in Non-Engineering Stream whereas 22 were awarded with Transformative Researcher Award in Engineering stream, and 28 faculty members in Non-Engineering Streams. 12 members were awarded with Best Team Members in Administrative Role while 42 were given Best Team in Administrative Role; 5 were given special appreciation award, 2 were given CU Value Ambassador Award, while one each was honoured with CU Community Service Award, Outperforming Role in Institution Building, Best soft skill trainer award and Best Aptitude trainer award, each. Besides, as many as 68 faculty and staffers of the varsity were honoured with Long Term Association-10 Years Awards.