Khelo India Women's Senior National Wushu League 2023

Chandigarh University hosts Khelo India Women's Senior National Wushu League 2023

Chandigarh University Gharuan hosted Khelo India Women's Senior National Wushu League 2022-23, organized by Wushu Association of India from 25 to 27 January. The three-day championship organized Sanda and Taolu events, which saw the participation of 216 women athletes from 28 states and 9 Union Territories of India along with paramilitary forces. All India Police (AIP) emerged as the winner of Sanda Wushu category with 12 points winning two Gold and two Bronze medals. Service Selection Board (SSB) with 1 Gold, 2 Silver, and 1 Bronze (12 points) and Uttar Pradesh with 1 Gold, 1 Silver, and 2 Bronze medals (10 points) were declared First and Second First Runners Up, respectively. Under Taolu Wushu category, Arunachal Pradesh won the winner’s trophy with 5 Gold and 3 Bronze medals (28 points), followed by Manipur as the First Runners Up with 2 Gold, 1 Silver, and 2 Bronze medals (15 points). Madhya Pradesh was the Second Runners Up in Taolu events with 2 Silver and 3 Bronze medals (9 points).


With rewards worth Rs. 21 Lakhs, Khelo India Women's Senior National Wushu League had different Sanda events in eight weight categories and seven events for Taolu martial art. 32 medals were awarded to participants of Sanda, whereas 28 medals were given to the winners under Taolu. Speaking about Chandigarh participants, two women athletes won medals in Sanda during the Wushu championship. Roshni won a Bronze medal in 48kg weight category, whereas Anju Kumari won a Bronze medal in the 56kg category.


The inauguration ceremony of Khelo India Wushu Women's League 2023 was presided over by Jagdeep Singh (IAS), Commissioner Rohtak, on the first day of the championship. Dr. R S Bawa, Chandigarh University Pro-Chancellor; Suhel Ahmad, CEO Wushu Federation of India; Arvind Singh Kang, Executive Director Chandigarh University; Mahesh Jetly, Chief Coach Hockey India SAI; and Gurdeep Gill, Sports Officer Chandigarh University were also present during the event. Officials of Wushu Federation of India distributed the awards to the winners on the final day of the event.

Speaking on the occasion, Chandigarh University Pro-Chancellor Dr. R S Bawa said, “Chandigarh University encourages the youth towards sports, and has a state-of-the-art infrastructure to enable each athlete and player prepare for a sports career. The university follows well thought-out special sports policies and a quality sports culture on the campus, which has led them to win laurels at state, national and international levels. The university feels honored to have hosted various national level sports events from time and again, including Khelo India Women's Senior National Wushu League 2022-23.”


45 Kg Category: Manju Munda (Gold), ODS; Anusha (Silver), SSB; Fulki (Bronze), J&K; Priyanka Bijay Kumar Gauda (Silver), AIP

48 Kg Category: Chhavi (Gold), U.P.; Gramar Yatup (Silver), Arunachal Pradesh; Roshni (Bronze), Chandigarh; Jyoti (Bronze), U.P.

52 Kg Category: Onilu Tega (Gold), Arunachal Pradesh; Namrata Batra (Silver) Madhya Pradesh; Jamuna Sarkar (Bronze), West Bengal; Poonam (Bronze), Himachal Pradesh

56 Kg Category: O.Bidtapati Chanu (Gold), AIP; H.Pravabati (Silver), Manipur; Neha (Bronze), Madhya Pradesh; Anju Kumari (Bronze), Chandigarh

60 Kg Category: N.Roshibina Devi (Gold), Manipur; Shiksha (Silver), Haryana; Kareena (Bronze), Haryana; Bhaiyg Rani (Bronze), ITBP

65 Kg Category: Nitika Bansal (Gold), Rajasthan; Milan Chaprana (Silver), Uttar Pradesh; Shavi Dhaiya (Bronze), SSB; Riya Chib (Bronze) AIP

70 Kg Category: Sonal Chouhan (Gold), AIP; Kiran (Silver), SSB); Th.Menaka Devi (Bronze), ITBP; Mahi Rana (Bronze), Uttar Pradesh

75 Kg Category: Deepika (Gold), SSB; Chirangi Chouhan (Silver), Rajasthan; Ankita Maravi (Bronze), Madhya Pradesh; Anjali (Bronze), WAI


Nanquan: Konjengbam Luxmi Devi (Gold), Manipur; Rezina Tamang (Silver), Delhi; Yorna Roshni (Bronze), Arunachal Pradesh; Rongila (Bronze), Assam

Baguazhang: Padmani (Gold) Assam; Shradha Yadav (Silver), Madhya Pradesh; Swecha Jadav (Silver), Madhya Pradesh; Anita R. Chavan (Bronze), Karnataka

Qiangshu: Mercy Ngaimong (Gold), Arunachal Pradesh; Echantombi (Silver), Manipur; Bhooraksha Dubey (Bronze), Madhya Pradesh; Divya Rana (Bronze), Delhi

Changquan: Nyeman Wangsu (Gold), Arunachal Pradesh; Sunita Gari (Silver), Jharkhand; Rekimbalay Yumnam (Bronze), Manipur; Bhooraksha Dubey (Bronze), Madhya Pradesh

Nandao: Konjengbam Luxmi Devi (Gold), Manipur; Neelam Choudhary (Silver), Rajasthan; Geeta Xalxo (Bronze), Jharkhand; Yorna Roshni (Bronze), Arunachal Pradesh

Jianshu: Mercy Ngaimong (Gold), Arunachal Pradesh; Bhooraksha Dubey (Silver), Madhya Pradesh; Wangherrakpam.Ningthubi (Bronze), Manipur; Divya Rana (Bronze), Delhi

Taijiquan: Mepung Lamgu (Gold), Arunachal Pradesh; Shravni Katke (Silver), Maharashtra; Kh. Didyashwori Chanu (Bronze), SSB; Meenu Munda (Bronze), Jharkhand