Chandigarh University host 29th Senior National Men & Women Wushu championship

Team SSCB lifts the overall trophy in Sanda & Taolu event of Wushu championship

Chandigarh University Gharuan organized the 29th Senior National Men & Women Wushu Championship 2021. Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi, Minister for Sports, Youth & NRI Affairs, Government of Punjab along with Bhupinder Singh Bajwa, President, Wushu Association of India (WAI) and Satnam Singh Sandhu, Chancellor, Chandigarh University inaugurated the 29th Senior National Wushu Championship organized by Wushu Association of India. More than 43 teams comprising of 1000 players from all 28 State, Union Territories, CRPF, BSF, ITBP, Services Sports Control Board  participated in the 5-day National Championship. 

While delivering at the inauguration ceremony of the Senior National Wushu championship, Cabinet Minister  Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi, said “ The sports of Wushu which originated from China has become popular in India in a very short span of time, the Minister advocated to consider Wushu not only a sport but also to be used as a self-defense tool by women and children”.  “It is becoming increasingly important that women and especially children should learn this martial art for self-protection which is important in today's scenario due to the increase in the numbers of child and women harassment cases in the society for this the Punjab Government is planning to take Wushu at the school level where the students will be learning the martial arts under the guidance of experts.

On the second day of the National Wushu Championship, players from Madhya Pradesh dominated the proceedings as its players Himani Jatav won gold medal in Kung-Fu Taijiquan Women’s category while Abhishek Thakur won gold medal in the Kung-Fu Bare Hand Southern Style Men’s category. Team CRPF is placed second on the overall medals tally by winning 2 Gold and 2 Bronze medals while team Maharashtra is placed at third position with 1 Gold 2 Silver and a Bronze Medal.

Teams from Delhi and Karnataka won one gold medal each in Women’s Taolu category of the tournament while team Uttar Pradesh won a gold medal in the men’s category. Mohd. Zahid Dristi from Sports Service Control Board (SSCB) won a silver medal in the Kung Fu Taijiquan Men’s category while H. Karanjit Sharma won another silver medal for his team SSCB in Kung Fu Taiji Fan/Qiang Men’s category of the tournament.  

In the Taolu category of Wushu,  M Sadananda from CRPF team won gold medal in Men’s Kung Fu Taijiquan competition while M. Punshiba of Manipur won a Bronze medal in the same category.  In the women’s category of Kung Fu Taijiquan,  Himani Jatav of Madhya Pradesh bagged gold medal while Babli Kachhap of Jharkhand bagged the silver and Mithali of Maharashtra bagged the Bronze medal.

On the fourth day of the Wushu Championship teams from Manipur and Jharkhand won one gold medal each in the Women’s Taolu category of the tournament. Harshit Namdeo from M.P won a Silver medal in the Kung Fu Single Weapon Men’s category while Anjali Parihar won a Bronze medal for his team M.P in Kung Fu Single Weapon Women’s category of the tournament. In another event of Kung-Fu, Taijiquan in Men's Category, M Gyandash Singh from SSCB bagged gold medal and H Karanjit Sharma from SSCB won the silver medal and Sanma Brahma from Assam won a bronze medal while in Women’s category Sanatombi Chanu from Manipur won a gold medal, Mepung Langu from Arunachal Pradesh bagged Silver and Sharavani Katke from Maharashtra won a Bronze medal. In one more event of Taolu, Nanquan in Men category, Sajan Lama from SSCB won Gold medal while Sher Bahadur from Punjab won Silver medal and Kousam Malemugauba Meitai From SSCB bagged Bronze medal. In the same event in Women category, Arita from Manipur won Gold medal while Geeta Xalxo from Jharkhand bagged Silver medal and Prachi from Rajasthan won a Bronze medal.  

Team SSCB bagged the championship title with their tremendous performance in the Taolu and Sanda category of Wushu, whereas Haryana was runner up in the Sanda category of Wushu.  More than 43 teams comprising of 1000 players from all 28 State, Union Territories, CRPF, BSF, ITBP, Services Sports Control Board participated in the 5-day National Championship. The 29th edition of the National Men and Women Wushu Championship witnessed two forms of the game: Sanda and Taolu. The men’s tournament was  divided into 11 weight categories Under 48 kg, 52 kg, 56 kg, 60 kg, 65 kg, 70 kg, 75 kg,80 kg, 85 kg,90 kg, and 90+ kg while the women’s tournament saw players participated in Under 45 kg, 48 kg, , 52 kg, 56 kg, 60 kg,65 kg,70 kg and 75 kg weight categories. In the closing ceremony of the 29th Senior National Men & Women Wushu Championship at Chandigarh University, Dr.B.S Sohi Pro-Vice Chancellor, Chandigarh University and Lieutenant Colonel Sanjay Verma, Nodal officer Assam Regiment, Wing Commander Vikas Singh, Joint Secretary AFSCB, and Wing Commander Aditya Uday, Nodal Officer were the other dignitaries who were present at the event.

The team SSCB  won a total of 9 medals which include 6 Gold Medals, 1 Silver, 2 Bronze Medals to lift the overall trophy in the Men’s and Women’s Sanda category of Wushu while team Haryana won a total of 12 medals which include 3 Gold Medals, 5 Silver and 4 Bronze Medals to lift the runner-up trophy, while the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) team made a third-place by bagging 6 medals in total, including 2 gold. While in the Taolu event of Wushu, team SSCB won a total of 20 medals which include 13 Gold, 4 Silver, and 3 Bronze Medals to lift the overall trophy and the team Madhya Pradesh won a total of 18 medals which include, 5 Gold, 10 Silver, and 3 Bronze medals to be at runner-up position, while team Manipur stood third with a total of 12 medals including 3 gold, 1 silver, and 8 bronze.

SSCB team with their best performances made it to the final matches for the most 7 categories (48, 52, 56, 60, 65, 85, and 90 kg weight), while SSB team and Rajasthan team  won the semi-finals in 3-3 categories and competed in the finals. Apart from this, the ITBP team qualified for the finals by winning the 4 categories in the women's semifinal matches, while the women’s team of  Haryana qualified in the final in 3 categories and Madhya Pradesh and UP qualified under 2-2 categories.

In the finals, Women's Sanda event of Wushu, In the 45kg weight category, Priyanka of ITBP beat Huma Khan of UP  with a score of 2-1 and bagged gold, while in the 48kg weight category, Namrata Batra of Madhya Pradesh beat Savita of Haryana, while in the weight category of 52 kg, Arunachal Pradesh's Onilu Teja beat ITBP's Chaoba Devi with a score of 2-0 to clinch the gold. Apart from this, in the weight category of 56kg, 60kg, 65kg, 70kg, and 75 kg, Oinam Badiapathi Chanu from All India Police, N. Roshibina Devi from Manipur,  Shruti from M.P, T. Menaka Devi from ITBP, and Pooja Kadian from Haryana bagged the gold medals. While,in the finals, Men’s  Sanda event of Wushu, Arun from Haryana won the gold by defeating Rajinder Singh from Jammu and Kashmir with a score of  1-0 in the 90+kg weight category while in the 90 kg weight category Rajat from SSCB beat Manish Sharma of SSB with a score of 1-0, while in the 85 kg weight category, Ravi from SSCB beat  Harish from ITBP with a score of  2-0 and bagged a gold medal.